Chameleon Caging?

Andrew27

I am pretty confused on what to do. I have a female Jackson's chameleon that I got 2 months ago, so you can tell I am a beginner cham owner. She has been eating pretty good and looks healthy. As for her caging, all I could afford was an 18x24x24. I thought it was too small, but she spends her time near the midsection any way, so I do not think she wants more climbing space. I can't afford her a bigger cage unless it is dirt cheap. Will this be ok for her? She isnt that big. If I had a male, I would definitely would have gotten a larger enclosure. Also, I wanted a screen cage, but I searched my whole state and could not find a single one. And yes, I am being serious. I cannot afford shipping on a cage from the internet. Instead, for airflow, I open her cage doors as often as I can and place a small fan on the lowest setting so that she has good airflow. Will this be ok for her air flow needs? My house is really hot, so the fan on low also keeps the temps low. I used to only open the doors 3 or 4 times a day for half hour periods, but now I can trust her and she stays deep in her brand new plant that I got her. Can I now just keep the doors open all day so she gets good air flow? I really appreciate your guys help, it means so much to me.

Hi!

What is the temperature at the top of the cage? I suspect she's staying in the middle because the top is too hot. It should be 78-81 degrees.

Is the cage 24 inches tall or 18 inches tall? If it's 24 inches tall, while it's on the small side, I would call if doable for a female. I'm sure you will have people say it's impossibly small and you are just going to have to work through the opinions and make that call yourself.

If this were my animal in that size cage, I would drape 2 (maybe 3) sides with dark fabric (towels would work) so that there is nothing your chameleon needs to worry about from those sides. That should help her feel more secure so lessen her need to prowl.