Gecko

BabyChamCham

Established Member
Ok so I know this isn't the place for this, but I have a male and a female leopard gecko and they have been housed together for their whole life. (I think) They used to be my friend's. So apparently until August is their breeding season and not sure if I should expect eggs or not. Recently the female has gotten really restless and has gone on a hunger strike... not sure what this means. I looked at her belly and thought I maybe saw a few egg shapes in there, but couldn't tell for sure. Any help is well appreciated.

I personally don't know much about geckos but if you search "gecko forums" on google you should be able to find some.

Yes that's a sign she's gravid. Cut a hole in the side of a shoebox and fill it with some organic potting soil. She'll lay 1-3 eggs every 3-4 weeks all the way through to October.

So are they gonna be fertilized? Gosh, I've never done this before...:coffee:
But they have been together for their whole life and I don't think have ever layed. So what makes now diffrent?o_O

You pick her up and look at her from underneath with a light shining through her.

How exciting but scary too! I'm sure she'll do fine. Would you post a pic of your geckos? I've always thought they were so cute and I'd love to see them!

Yes that's a sign she's gravid. Cut a hole in the side of a shoebox and fill it with some organic potting soil. She'll lay 1-3 eggs every 3-4 weeks all the way through to October.
Will potting soil with fertilizer work? Or maybe dirt from outside?

Is the male still in there With her ? He may be stressing/ making her nervous that could cause the unfruitful strike try separating the cage where they can't see eachother and see if that helps