HELP -- New to chams

TortoiseAvenger

Hello:

Although I am new to chameleons, I'm not new to exotic pets. I have had geckos and saltwater aquarium successfully for quite some time. I am interested in getting a chameleon, but I'm not terribly interested in the common ones recommended for beginners. Is there a Cham that is a little bit more different that still wouldn't be impossible to care for?

Also, I am noticing a lot of the more interesting chameleons have a lot of color on them. How does this affect the color change according to the mood environment of the Cham? Are there certain species that change color the most? Maybe a Cham that mostly has uniform color all over that changes color a lot?

In addition, down the road I might want to breed cams. I know breeding commonly available Cams is tricky, because it can be hard to find homes for them since they are available in so many places. Is there a breed of cam that fits the rest of my requirements but also might be in higher demand?

Finally, what kind of daily upkeep is required? I found a lot of information on how to construct a habitat and how to feed etc. but I haven't found much on what is going to be required of me every day. I work from home, and I have quite a bit of time, but sometimes I have bad days. I'm wondering how much poop there is going to be to clean out and how much daily maintenance is required. For comparison, I found my geckos to be incredibly easy to care for. In a well planted tank, I hardly ever had to clean up poop. It seemed to always fall in the plants and probably did them well. Is this going to be the same or similar? I plan on having lots of real plants in the enclosure.

Thank you all for your time,

Nicholas

As far as exotics go, I only have a chameleon, so I can't really compare it to any other reptile, or an aquarium. However I can say that they are awesome pets, and keeping them is a great project for hobbyists.