I'm a newbie with a few questions (:

Chamelea

Hello everyone! I just joined today :)

After a lot of thinking and researching, I have decided to buy a juvenile Veiled Chameleon :) But before I do, I have a few questions first to help me prepare 100%

1: The enclosure
I already have an enclosure ready, but have yet to decorate it. Would it be alright if I used artificial plants/vines, or is it strongly recommended that I use live ones? And if I do have fake ones in there, the chameleon wouldn't try to eat it, would it? And how thick should the branches be?

2: Humidity
What are your opinions on keeping a fogger in the terrarium? (in addition to misting several times a day with a spray bottle). I was a bit concerned that he would accidentally fall into the water where the fogger is, and drown. But it would also help keep the humidity. Also, should I use a water conditioner/stress coat in the water that I use to mist the cage with? And would it be okay to use that in the water for the fogger too?

3: Heat Lamp
What is the best kind of heat lamp to use? Should I use a bulb or a tube? (I plan on using a tube for the UVA/UVB) and does the heat lamp need to be replaced every 6 months as well, or does it last for however long the light does? What is the recommended wattage, considering the cage is 12 inches tall and so there won't be that much space to keep it the proper distance from the basking spot (I plan to upgrade to a bigger cage when the Chameleon gets bigger).

4: Diet