Madagascar

hep20

Hi Everyone, I'd like to introduce myself, I'm an MSc student of International Wildlife Trade and Conservation at the Durrell Institute for Conservation and Ecology. I have just returned from a month long trip to Madagascar where I have been interviewing chameleon exporters and looking at ways of making the chameleon trade more sustainable and conservation oriented. I am now looking at possible scenarios of what could happen should the current trade restrictions be lifted and more species become available to be legally traded from Madagascar. I would be really keen to hear any opinions you might have on this and also if anyone knows of any species where trade embargos have been lifted as I am drawing a blank on finding these at the moment.

Thank you in advance, I look forward to hearing from you and participating in your forum :0)

welcome

Welcome to the forum. I hope you will find useful information and good people here.

I'm interested to hear you are at the Durrell Institute; I was an avid reader of Mr. Durrell's books, and supported his zoo for a time.

There is a search funtion on this site and using it I found a few discussions you might find relevant:
https://www.chameleonforums.com/if-there-new-cites-species-quotas-40252/
https://www.chameleonforums.com/chameleon-conservation-26550/
https://www.chameleonforums.com/madagascar-export-quota-10697/
https://www.chameleonforums.com/cites-2008-no-three-horns-11504/

Personally, I have mixed feeling about lifting quotas; I feel there are species that could be harvested in reasonable numbers with little impact overall; I feel that are species that could be "farmed" with good effect; I worry that with rampant corruption in the country, any controls would subverted, and truly endangered species would be further damaged by a lifting or expanding of the quotas.

I will be interested to hear other opinions here.