Should i buy a veiled chameleon

ChamTeen

Im a 16 year old guy and im realy realy into chameleons. Iv had discusions with my mom and other family members about me geting a baby 2-3 month old veiled chameleon this summer. Iv done alot of research on websites about alot of types of chameleons but mainly panther and veiled chameleons. Im kinda confident that i have plenty of knowledge about them to take care of it but i am scared and nervous to buy one because i had one about two years ago and it didnt live past a month.. So im here asking peoples opinion on weather i should try to buy and care for a veiled chameleon now that i know alot more about them. So dose anyone think i should maybe wait a few years or should i try again?

If you have the resources and time needed and are able to maintain a consistent environment and feeding schedule long-term and are also able to maintain interest long term then it may be for you.

Just realize that the up-front cost is pretty high to do things right, especially if you are not going to be home all day and need automation like timers and misters. There is also always the possibility of vet bills even in a perfect environment, so you should take that in to account. Probably having a $800-$1000 budget would be safest since there can be all kinds of unanticipated costs.

Where did you get your previous chameleon? If he came from a pet store it is possible he had preexisting health issues. You can help to avoid those by getting your chameleon from a reputable breeder.

I would read the care sheets and see if you think they are something you can pull off, and also ask yourself whether this is something you are excited enough about to remain interested for years, or if it will just become a burden and you will end up not providing the care needed.

If you post how you would set up the environment, that would probably also tell people here whether you already have enough knowledge or need to do more research.