Tail biting, free roaming, and random questions

Clovey__

This is my first time posting so I don't really know where to put this, but my 7 year old male veiled chameleon tries to bite his tail. He seemed perfectly healthy and happy, but a couple years ago he bit his tail pretty bad and we had to bring him to the vet as an emergency because if not it probably would have gone septic. His tail got amputated and it was healing up but it didn't heal well so we had to take him back again... and again. He has seemed okay for the most part, but sometimes since then I catch him trying to bite his tail. I thought he was over that. Now I don't know what to do about it. Other than that at his visits, they say he is doing well.

He's in a 4ft tall 2ft wide mesh screen enclosure. He has a hibiscus tree that I couldn't keep alive so I covered it up in fake vine leaves. He has a hammock in there, as well as little wooden ladders my mom made for him. He has a water dripper and I see him drink water often. He eats 7 bugs every other day. Usually black soldier fly larvae and crickets. Ocasional wax worms. He's been a consistent weight for the longest, so not worried about that. He's on a calcium supplement that my vets gave me and said to use it every feeding and no more d3. It's repashy calcium plus. The warm side of his cage is usually around 85f and low around 73. During night my room is consistently at 68 degrees because im always freezing cold. He gets misted a few minutes at night and in the morning. Humidity is usually in the mid 40% during daytime and from the misting its in the upper 70s, though not sure for how long. I have 2 towels on the side and back of his enclosure to try and keep the humidity in. He has a linear UVB lamp, the brand is a zilla(i think thats the name)tropical fixture or something like that but im planning on switching to arcadia because i saw they have good uvb for chams.