too cold for screen enclosure?

Nate91

I have a 5 month old veiled chameleon. I live in Michigan and my house is always cold.. Probably between 50-60 degrees in the house. So I know they need a screen enclosure, but I'm worried that if I put him in the screen enclosure it will be too cold for him..or does it not matter the air temp so much as long as he can bask where the heat hits him at a high enough temp. I'm new to chameleons so any advice would be appreciated. I also was thinking of maybe building an enclosure that was partially screen so it can get more air flow.. Need some advice either way tho, thanks.

Your cage temp will probably be hotter overall with the lights running in it. The UVB's do not produce heat but your basking will heat up the cage of course. I would add another basking area to warm up the cage or maybe a ceramic heat emitter. The temps you stated are within the range but it is on the cool side getting into the 50 degree range. As long as you have a place to warm up you should be ok but you may find your chameleon spending a lot of time in the area of the basking where it is warm. At night, it will get too cold and you will probably need some type of heat emitter. I am assuming your house gets even colder at night? what is he housed in now?