Water heater for misting system

CELeafs

I am trying to think of ways to up the humidity in my chameleons cage. I had a thought that if my mister were spraying warmer water (not hot) that it might help my cause. Does anyone have any ideas of what I can put in my monsters reservoir to warm the water some?

I am trying to think of ways to up the humidity in my chameleons cage. I had a thought that if my mister were spraying warmer water (not hot) that it might help my cause. Does anyone have any ideas of what I can put in my monsters reservoir to warm the water some?

A fish aquarium heater would work as long as it stays submerged. However, warm water will tend to grow stagnant faster and produce algae so you'll have to clean the reservoir more often. Heating the water will raise the evaporation rate too. But, sprayed water droplets cool down as it moves through the air so you might not gain much.

I'm new at this, but from what I've heard, you can get the water the reservoir pretty hot, because by the time it gets to the cham it cools down quite a bit. You'll want to test this out first, of course.

I've heard that a small aquarium heater works well. This is the system I'll be setting up in a couple days.

So perhaps I'd be better off with a humidifier from my local drug store?

Probably. You'd need a very large reservoir surface area to raise the room humidity very much just from evaporation. And, with a humidifier you can cycle it on and off with a timer to create cycles of higher and lower humidity in the cage.

Heating the water is probably just going to be a waste of energy. Most water droplets are so small they cool down by convection to room temperature just as if you did not heat the water. Some people insist however that there is a difference. Someone did a study on this a few months back and showed that heating the water made no difference in the temp out of the nozzle due to particle size.