help! im a total newbie & have some questions..

faithxw

Hi! I am totally new here, & just recently (today actually) bought what I have been told is, 2 female Jackson's chameleons. They are about 5 inches head to tail, & have no horns. They are eating well, as well as drinking. I have had numerous pets in the past, including iguanas, but these are my first chameleons. They are seemingly healthy, and are quite friendly. They're bright bright green almost always, and everyonce in awhile turn a brownish grey. I have been told they are NOT handle friendly pets, just for displaying. Is this true? I would love to start handling them and getting them use to me, but don't want to stress them out. Is it true that I can't ever handle my beloved babies? I hate to just have them as display pets, but all of my research claims I shouldn't handle them at all? Any advice?

If you just got them, let them settle in for a while.

Its not true at all that they are a hands off cham. Just dont force handle it and rip it off branches or mesh.If the lizard will come to you for food, thats a start to create a relationship. food and baby warm water. You may find yourself with chameleons that are rushing you once the door opens.

Do you keep them together?

I am iffy on this subject... I have had iguanas too and wouldn't say they are like iguanas by any means. Not something you can walk around with on your shoulder for hours. But I do handle mine daily. At most for maybe 5 minutes a day just to be use to me. I take them all outside as well. They are very shy creatures and some more so than others. Some of them don't mind people at all. The main thing is you don't want to stress them out. Thats where the whole don't handle them thing comes from. People think the more you handle them the more they stress. Which is true for some chameleons but they all are different. You just have to feel them out and stay away from the things that they hate.