I rescued a velled chameleon and need help

Dena fay

He is not wanting to be held not very happy at all I don't know how many owners he's been through he's fully grown I'm debating on whether to put him outside and under my patio or to keep him inside I need tips on how to handle him cuz he doesn't want to be taken out of the cage at all is a fountain a good thing to keep in the cage and whatever anybody can help me without with as useful tips would be greatly appreciated this is my first time I've ever had one of these

He is not wanting to be held not very happy at all I don't know how many owners he's been through he's fully grown I'm debating on whether to put him outside and under my patio or to keep him inside I need tips on how to handle him cuz he doesn't want to be taken out of the cage at all is a fountain a good thing to keep in the cage and whatever anybody can help me without with as useful tips would be greatly appreciated this is my first time I've ever had one of these
I just rescued one, too. They do not like being held - it's not just your chameleon. If you just got him, try to leave him alone for a while. He really needs time to decompress and get used to his new surroundings.

I really recommend checking out some helpful YouTube videos. I found Neptune the Chameleon and Chameleon Academy videos to be the most helpful. And make sure to check out the care sheet for your chameleon type in this forum (look under the Resources dropdown above). The care sheet really does have everything you need to get you started. :)

Hi and welcome to the forum!
Chameleons do best in a 24” 24” 48” cage with lots of natural plants and branches. They need a T5 HO linear uvb bulb with a white heat bulb and need to be fed a variety of live insects. I agree with checking out Neptune the chameleon and chameleon academy. Fountains are not recommended for chameleon cages as they often get full of bacteria.

Attachments

• 877FB28F-9519-49E5-9B8A-FB8242BD0777.jpeg