New jackson concern

dig414

We just got our first jackson cham today and he keeps closing his eyes and sleeping since we got him. Even when being held. Could it possibly just be laziness or maybe sick?

The first pic is him now. The last one is him when we first got home just a few hours ago

Attachments

• 20160402_191613.jpg
    20160402_191613.jpg
    87.7 KB · Views: 176
  • 20160402_220754.jpg
    20160402_220754.jpg
    239.4 KB · Views: 188
  • 20160402_183455.jpg
    20160402_183455.jpg
    204.8 KB · Views: 165
I was told it could also be because he's stressed out or that he's been on a diff sleep schedule in our local pet store

Nah someone's educated guess although the lady at the pet store just thought he was tired. And he is used to bein in the dark after 630

Wonder if I should get him straight to a vet or just make sure he gets plenty of water an vitamins an see if he perks up in a few days.

I have been keeping chameleons for 10 years and have yet to have one (that wasn't sick) fall asleep/close their eyes while I was handling them. Then again, I don't handle them when I know they are ready to sleep. Put him to bed and see if he stays awake all day tomorrow.

Last edited:
Well a chameleon is not like a "toy", i mean, you can keep it when he will be not to much stressfull like he is now. The only way first is to let him in his cage. Is it a xantho Jacksoni or Jacksoni Jacksoni ? I advice you the following conditions 25-30°C max at the high level of the cage. A good point to heat himself, a sick or stress animal need to be heat correctly. Second point, this species need good humidity. During the night keep it around 18°/20°C. And last vegetation, lot of natural vegetation to keep a good humidity. You have to use a good UVB/UVA lighting system, they need it. I hope it can help you. Don't hesitate to make it drink.