spider in the cricket bin. any ideas on the species?

reptoman

Avid Member
I kinda thought, brown recluse, but not so sure that's what it is. It does not match the pics I have found. Anyone with an id let me know. thanks

Last edited:
I am by no means a expert on spiders but i am leaning towards the side of it being a recluse. After reading up a little on them on wikipedia and comparing the pictures. Some of the markings do resemble the brown recluse, particularly the pattern on the abdomen looks almost the same as the marking on the spider's back in your second picture.

Attachments

• 800px-Brown-recluse-coin-edit.jpg
    800px-Brown-recluse-coin-edit.jpg
    74.5 KB · Views: 463
yEAH i think that is a brown recluse!! dont get bit by them the docs have to take a huge chunk of meat off where the bite occures.

heh I found a brown recluse just like that and put it in a cricket keeper I don't use anymore, showed it to my mom.

Oh how I love giving her more grey hairs.

Be careful though, extremely poisonous... this is what will happen if you get bit.

Attachments

• leg_bite.jpg
    leg_bite.jpg
    18 KB · Views: 243
  • fig11.jpg
    fig11.jpg
    107.9 KB · Views: 951
  • brown%20spider%20volcanoes.jpg
    brown%20spider%20volcanoes.jpg
    9.6 KB · Views: 320
  • the-brown-recluse-bite.jpg
    the-brown-recluse-bite.jpg
    3.4 KB · Views: 1,193
you can definetly get come funky stuff in your cricket box's i know the pet store i used to get mine from got theres from all over the place. Used to always get hobo spiders in the box and even once got a young T.

Okay, Karmachameleon is either my hero, or the worst person on earth...not really sure.

Take it to the edge of a canyon or field and release it to the wild then RUN AWAY!!!

I was bitten by one recently 3 times but my reaction to the venom was not nearly as bad as those pictured above, but the worst I ever been bitten by anything.