Spotting a Happy vs. Stressed Chameleon - reading the signs

Mtnlaurel

Ok so for a total newbie,where no indicator seems too simple, what are the signs that your chameleon is happy?
What are the signs that you chameleon is stressed?

Basically, how can someone without prior chameleon experience determine if things are going well?

I am just thinking that there have to be signs of a happy, well adjusted chameleon, besides eating and drinking, that we could watch for to know we are doing it right.

Just seems like from reading that by the time they are exhibiting signs of stress, they are already in really deep trouble.

Well their colors are major, within the first week or so you should know the difference between resting/relaxed colors to nervous colors which can either be display/bright colors or hiding/dark colors. Both are signs of a stressed chameleon. Closed eyes when outside a cage is highly indicative of a large amount of stress. Eating and drinking of course is helpful but even stressed chameleons will do this. Leaf walking, an over-exaggerated amount of it so that it gets in the way of actual movement, can be signs of stress. In the beginning of being in a new environment or being outside the cage this is acceptable, but within a few minutes this should settle in my opinion and curiosity should take over.

That's going to be a hard question to answer. Obvious signs of stress or illness in most animals is poor appetite and/or nervous behavior. Chams get stressed from environmental factors like feeling crowded in their territory. My friend had one who would hide when anything moved in the room. Unfortunately they also freeze when they are afraid. One I saw was kept in a cage that had high ambient temperatures and it would pace and dig at the cage every afternoon. You will have to be very observant to learn the norms of your animal/s. Hope someone else can offer you more help.