Unwanted Little Critters!!!

SoCaliSon

Avid Member
Okay... This weekend I lost all of my Silkies and pupating caccoons to swarms and swarms of Ants that came in through the electrical outlet in my Cham Room!!!!:mad::mad: I got everything clean I thought... Until the next morning they were raiding my Dubias and Hissers. I got the Dubias cleared out... But... My colony of Hissers I have been raising for around 8 months have all persihed after I cleaned there bin and kept them in my car, to avoid more ants, and to keep temps warm, But it was too warm. I was stupid not think about the 120+ deg in my car during the summer and that it is too hot for even roaches. I have been hearing from people about the ants taking over at there place as well. It is a real nightmare when it happens! I had some questions related to this...

Are the ant traps safe?? I was thinking that there might be a danger of one ingesting poison to take back to queenie... but getting eaten by a cham first... which I imagine would be a bad thing!

Will Ants kill your Cham?

What is the best/safest way erradicate them once they are present?

Are Ants in a electrical socket a fire hazard? Should I turn off that outlet next time?

Any tips or tricks??? It seems like no matter how clean you keep it... This hobby requires the presence of things that attract ants... all the way down to the moisture.

~Joe

Try using cinnamon to keep the ants out. The ants don't like it and won't cross over it. I put it near the doors and windows.