Baby With Back Leg Issue

Brad Ramsey

Retired Moderator
Not sure there is much I can do for this little girl.
She finally emerged last night after taking a couple of days to get out of the egg and her back left leg is bad.
She is moving around okay, of course not eating yet.
Just looking for opinions from people with experience ... I have little hope of this problem correcting itself, but I have no experience with raising a "special needs" baby like this.
Sorry for the bad picture (it's the best of the ones I took ... at least you can see the problem)
Thanks for your input.

-Brad

forgot to post the picture :rolleyes:
She is (obviously) the chameleon on the left.
You can see that her leg is literally backward ... she tries to use it but ends up grabbing herself ... so there is movement and use.

-Brad

Last edited:
Removing my comment since it doesnt include experience. All Apologies.

I've experience with a "special needs" chameleon, though not the same issue. I can tell you it is a great deal of responsibility and time to look after a chameleon that cant look after itself. Feeding and watering by hand several times a day, every day, ...and if she cant move to thermoregulate....
Can the messed up leg be amputated? Perhaps if it can get around on three legs, her life is worth saving?

May learn to cope....