Senegal chameleon

I have one myself and I am still learning (from Karma and others) what to do right, otherwise I would offer suggestions.

Post pics of yours! There are not too many Senegal owners on here. (They are not as "valued" as some of the other species, but I like mine).

Go to Post Reply, above the text box is a paperclip button, centre-right. Go nuts with pics! I adore Senegals!

IMHO there is not just one thingthat is important...unless I just say husbandry!

Senegal are water hounds and it's important that you keep them well-hydrated.
Itsalso important that you provide them with a source of UVB light so that they can produce D3 so that they can use the calcium in their system/diet.

It's important that they have appropriate temperatures so that they digest their food properly. The basking area should be in the mid 80'sF.

They also need proper supplements and nutritious food that has been gutloaded. You can gutload crickets, roaches, locusts, superiors with a wide assortment of greens and veggies such as dandelions, collards, endive, escarole, mustard greens, carrots, squash, zucchini, sweet red pepper, sweet potatoes, etc.

Since many of the insects have a poor ratio of calcium to phos its important to dust the most with a phos - free calcium powder at most feedings to make up for it.

It's also recommended that the insects dusted twice a month with a vitamin powder that contains a beta carotene source of vitamin A to ensure that the chameleon gets some vitamins without overdosing the prEformed vitamin A. Vitamin A (prEformed) can build up in the system and be antagonistic to the D3 and may lead to MBD.

It's recommended that twice a month the insects are dusted with a phos - free calcium / D3 powder to ensure that the chameleon gets some D3 without overdosing it. D3 from supplements can build up in the system and lead to health issues.

Hope this helps!